Coconut Oil Addict and many more….

Sorry about being gone for so long! I was on vacation and got really busy with, well: life! haha

While I’ve been away I’ve actually learned a lot of things that I’ll be (or already am) incorporating into my little family’s life.

First of all: Coconut Oil.

Oh , how I love Coconut oil. I’m addicted, I use it all over my home and couldn’t be happier. I’ve also gotten my family back home in Washington addicted as well. There are just SO many uses for it! I use it for diaper rash on Elenore, I use it in my cooking (you can use it to replace ANY oil!), I use it on myself (Lotion! The BEST lotion); face, and body, and recently discovered that you can use it in your hair as well! You can also use it to make coconut butter, coconut snacks and is extremely healthy for you. Not to mention its filling! It is amazing stuff, here is 101 ways to use coconut oil:

http://wellnessmama.com/5734/101-uses-for-coconut-oil/

and a recipe to make super yummy Coconut Butter:

http://heathereatsalmondbutter.com/recipes/coconut-butter/

I hope it makes you just as addicted as I am 😉

The next thing that I really just found the other day is Magnesium deficiency.

I had to idea that a major amount of people in the U.S are actually magnesium deficient and it has huge impacts on our health. One of those is sleep. If you are deficient you have a real hard time sleeping.

Here is an amazing article on it: http://www.deliciousobsessions.com/2013/03/miraculous-magnesium-and-diy-magnesium-oil/

So in response to this I promptly told my family in WA (whom have been having issues sleeping) and started taking Epsom salt baths. I can confidently told you that I have been sleeping REALLY well since I started. So I’m going to make the oil this coming week and start spraying it onto myself. Here’s to NOT being magnesium deficient!

And finally:

Cauliflower. 

Did you know that you can grind up Cauliflower and use it to replace things like rice? Or put it into your dough and make a healthy pizza dough? I had NO idea. Well last night I made my first Cauliflower “rice”. It was SO good! I made a Mexican feast last night and it was my Spanish “rice”. Just an FYI: it needs LOTS of spices. So be generous 🙂

Here is the recipe for the Spanish rice:

http://budgetpaleo.blogspot.com/2011/02/spanish-cauliflower-rice.html

And the Pizza crust:

http://www.recipegirl.com/2012/01/16/cauliflower-crust-hawaiian-pizza/

 

Hope you guys have just as much fun as I do with these recipes and tips!

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather Eats Almond Buttter
    May 05, 2013 @ 21:01:23

    I’ve also seen recipes for buffalo wings made from roasted cauliflower. Been meaning to try that. Thanks for the link to my recipe. Happy to see you spreading the coconut love. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

