Mommy hand me downs

So in my short time as a mom, I have discovered that whether you want them or not, other mothers are going to give you advice. This could either be annoying (which the majority of time, it is lol) or you can embrace some of them and try them out. After thinking about this last night (Elenore wasn’t sleeping so I spent the majority of the night in her rocking chair) I decided to accumulate some of the best advice I have received so far into one place. Hopefully these help some other mommas! Because we all know, we all are just trying to survive and enjoy this little thing called; motherhood. ❤

* Gripe water. This stuff is amazing! It was my go to when Elenore was in her earliest months. If she was acting fussy, and wasn’t tired, hungry or just feeling clingy, I gave her a dose of it. It calmed whatever was making her cry and she would calm down. The purpose of Gripe water is to calm colic, tummy aches, cure hiccups, and have a calming effect on fussy babies. This momma highly recommends it! Here is where I got mine: http://www.walgreens.com/store/c/mommy%27s-bliss-gripe-water-dietary-supplement-liquid/ID=prod3460643-product?ext=gooMedicines_ampersand_Treatments_PLA_Childrens_Stomach_Remedies_prod3460643_pla&adtype={adtype}&Kpid=prod3460643&sst=46201059-220c-c728-fb10-00006e47d7e9

*The 5 S’s. When I was told about this from my dear friend Becky while I was pregnant, I thought it was to good to be true. But one night when nothing was working to get Elenore to sleep, I tried it out, and it worked! Miraculously actually, I couldn’t believe it! The 5 S’s are:

  • Swaddling: Tight swaddling provides the continuous touching and support your baby is used to experiencing within the womb.
  • Side/stomach position: The infant is placed on their left side to assist in digestion, or on their stomach to provide reassuring support. “But never use the stomach position for putting your baby to sleep,” cautions Karp. Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) is linked to stomach-down sleep positions. When a baby is in a stomach down position do not leave them even for a moment.
  • Shushing sounds: These imitate the continual whooshing sound made by the blood flowing through arteries near the womb.
  • Swinging: Newborns are used to the swinging motions within their mother’s womb, so entering the gravity driven world of the outside is like a sailor adapting to land after nine months at sea. “It’s disorienting and unnatural,” says Karp. Rocking, car rides, and other swinging movements all can help.
  • Sucking: “Sucking has its effects deep within the nervous system,” notes Karp, “and triggers the calming reflex and releases natural chemicals within the brain.”
    (http://www.happiestbaby.com/5-ss-system-may-help-colic-symptoms/

When they are used all together, Elenore would instantly calm and sleep. It was amazing! Highly recommend this one to mothers with colicky babies.

*Amber teething necklaces. Now this one I was really skeptical about when I first heard about it. So your telling me that a simple necklace has anti inflammatory qualities and that it helps with teething?! Some mothers were telling me their children never had teething symptoms while wearing one, and others were saying it significantly helped their children with the pain. After asking many mothers (the general response was either in extreme favor, or had never heard of them), and realizing that all the mothers I talked to were in favor of amber necklaces, I decided to buy one. I got one for Elenore, and one for myself. I wanted to know if it could help me out with headaches, and stuff (I was also told once that they help with fertility, so I wanted any help I could get). What was the outcome? Elenore doesn’t have teething pains, or teething fussiness while wearing hers! The minute I take it off though (for more than a few hours) she starts to fuss, starts biting on everything, and gets irate. I learned fast to keep it on 24/7 (other than bathtime). As far as me? While wearing mine, I had less headaches, a shoulder that was sore for weeks calmed, and my period cramps were almost non existent. Now I’m not going to say its a cure all, or that it works for everyone, but it definitely has helped this family! (This is where I purchased ours: http://www.amberizon.com/shop/natural_baltic_amber_necklaces_amber_necklace_jewelry_shop.html)

*The Rock and Play Sleeper: This thing is amazing! One of my mom’s friends got it for me and let me tell you, this was all Elenore slept in till she was around 4-5 months old! Its perfect for breastfeeding momma’s because it is small and can sit right next to the bed for easy access. (not just for bf mommas though, I have many friends whom were formula mommas and they loved theirs too) It also rocks, so those nights when all the baby wants is constant motion, you can lay in bed and continue to rock your child. I loved mine! I think every momma needs one 🙂 (http://www.amazon.com/Fisher-Price-Newborn-Rock-Sleeper-Yellow/dp/B002M77N22)

*Swaddles- I always had a swaddle on Elenore! Those things are the best. I found a easy swaddle that didn’t take much thought and just kept Elenore in it all the time. (excluding; tummy time and bath time of course lol) I can thank my friend Jenny for this one. There is just something about keeping a baby swaddled that helps them to always feel calm and reasureed. My swaddles were used till they started to fall apart haha Here are the ones I used: http://www.amazon.com/Loving-Baby-Swaddle-Blanket-Calming/dp/B00196QVLQ

*Vicks on the bottom of the feet: This one I had never heard of till just a few months ago! If you put vicks on the bottom of your child’s feet, it clears their head and calms coughing! Let me tell you, ever since I found this one out, its the go to when Elenore is sick. It works great! I have no idea how it works, but it definitely does. Matt even did it to himself one night and told me that it was the oddest thing, but he could breathe better afterwards! Crazy. Also, I have been using baby vicks since Elenore was only a few months old. That stuff is a must for mother’s with infants. We all know we can’t give them any medicine for stuffed up noses, so when I found out about Baby vicks, I was over joyed! Also try out some of the Vicks baby bath wash, that stuff is great as well!

Baby vicks: http://www.walmart.com/ip/12169679?adid=22222222227000148518&wmlspartner=wlpa&wl0=&wl1=g&wl2=&wl3=21486607510&wl4=&wl5=pla&veh=sem

Stuffy nose ease Bubble Bath: http://www.drugstore.com/california-baby-bubble-bath-aromatherapy-eucaplyptus-ease/qxp54790?catid=182480

*Bumbos- This one is going to get some people mad at me. But this thing was great with my child. I used it when she was not quite ready to sit up on her own, but she really wanted to be able to see everything. I also used it as a on the go high chair for my swim meets. If this is used correctly there is no danger to your child. (This means, keeping yourself in arm range, not placing on high surfaces, and never leaving your child unattended! Also, the minute your child can actually move the bumbo with their feet, or can start lifting their butt our of the seat, its time to retire the bumbo) I plan on using this for all my future children. (http://www.target.com/s/bumbo+baby?ref=tgt_adv_XS000000&AFID=google&CPNG=baby_bouncer+rocker+infant+seat&adgroup=bumbo_bumbo&LNM=Bumbo%20baby&MT=broad&LID=9p6384503&KID=46201059-220c-c728-fb10-00006e47d7e9)

*Moby wraps: LOVED this thing. I used it whenever I was out and about. Kept Elenore really calm while shopping. This is a must for all mommas! If you don’t like the moby, try one of the other hundreds of baby carriers. They are a must. (http://www.mobywrap.com/mw/Home.htm)

Those are all I can think of right this moment, but if I think of more; or if some wonderful momma’s give me some more that work wonders, I’ll share them with you guys!

motherhood

Leave a Reply

