The Birth of Elenore Rose

Everyone around me has been posting their pregnancy and birth stories and it made me want to share mine. So here it goes….

I had a relatively easy pregnancy. I was up and about with William (the little guy I was a nanny for) all the way up till I was 8 months pregnant, and then took my maternity leave the last month of my pregnancy. I wanted to have as much time as I could get to prepare for Elenore and for Matt to get home from deployment. That last month is a blur of prepping Elenore’s room, going to a air show (Elle kicked happily each time a plane flew over, a true Air Force baby), and prepping for Matt’s return home. That last month I also found out I had Gestational diabetes, so I was forced to prick my finger everyday and watch what I was eating (not a very happy thing for any pregnant woman to hear).

8 months pregnant

8 months pregnant

The time really didn’t feel like it was going that slow for me. I think it was because Matthew was deployed so it helped me to focus on my pregnancy instead of how long it was since I last saw my husband. That last month I also had the excitement of prepping and getting ready for Matthew to get home. The day he got home was the happiest moment of my life (besides finding out I was pregnant and seeing Elenore on the ultrasound). He got home exactly 3 days before I had Elenore. I wouldn’t have traded those days for anything. We really needed us time before our bundle of joy over took our lives.

Talking to the local news crews

Talking to the local news crews

His plane!

His plane!

Most wonderful moment

Most wonderful moment

Finally!

Finally!

watching the guys get off the plane

watching the guys get off the plane

My heart is complete again

My heart is complete again

After he got home my doctor told me that she wanted to induce me so that she could regulate my blood sugar while I labored. I agreed. (To this day wish I hadn’t) So September 29th we got up around 5 in the morning and went over to the military hospital on base. I could barely contain my excitement! I was going to meet my daughter that day ! I still held out the hope that I would labor like my mother (she only labored for a few hours with both Wesley and I) and was convinced I would be having her around 2 at the latest.

The day didn’t exactly start out great. The first nurse couldn’t find my vein, and then when she finally did, she blew straight through it. That hurt like crazy! She finally admitted defeat and let another nurse try. She got it in in the first try, but couldn’t stop the bleeding for a good minute. (In which time Matt almost passed out) Once they finally got that done and the drugs flowing, I sat back and waited.  I didn’t feel anything for a really long time. Everyone kept telling me that I was having really big contractions, but I really didn’t feel anything other than a tightening of my skin on my stomach. I still remember my mother and mother in law standing watch anxiously watching the monitor every time I contracted and then looking at me for a reaction. It was quite humorous.

I can’t remember exactly, but at some point around 2 my doctor told me she wanted to break my water, I agreed. Holy crap, it was like a light was flipped on my pain receptors and suddenly I was in so much pain! She warned me that without my water the labor would be more intense, but it literally went from nothing to everything in a matter of minutes. All I remember is Matt trying to hold my hand, and I slapping at him telling him I didn’t want to be touched. The poor guy had no idea what he should be doing. At this point he started watching Burn Notice on Tv. LOL This is where the obsession came from.

After laboring hard for the next few hours and getting NO where, my nurse came in, checked where I was and asked me what I wanted to do. She was awesome, she knew I wanted to do this all naturally and didn’t pressure drugs on me at all. At this point I was still at a 5, only half way. It was late afternoon now, and I was exhausted. After sobbing and talking to Matthew, I finally asked for an epidural. The sweet bliss of having my pain go away was wondrous. I finally was able to close my eyes and catch a cat nap. I finally jumped to a 7 at this point, I was so relieved. My doctor believed it helped me to relax and finally get some progress.

I then sat at a 7 for hours, and hours, and hours. I wasn’t progressing and it was super frustrating. The doctors only came in every once in awhile to check on me, but pretty much left me alone. Finally around midnight-1ish, my mom noticed that I was feverish. The doctors checked me and discovered I had caught an infection from having my water broken so many hours before. At this point everything went really fast. My doctor came in, informed me that I had to have a c-section because I had a severe infection and because I was still at a 7. They didn’t want to risk me or the baby. I wanted to cry, but was so tired and delirious after the ordeal that I said fine.

They rushed me to the operating room and prepped me. The whole time they were prepping me I kept almost falling asleep, it was horrible. The only point where I wasn’t almost asleep was when I suddenly heard my daughter’s first breath and yell. Man she had some lunges on her! All the techs and the doctors were really impressed. It was the happiest moment and Matt and I’s life.

When they left with her and Matt went with her, I remember thinking that it was almost over. They just had to stitch me up.. I started to drift off to sleep. Suddenly I could feel EVERYTHING! I came too feeling every pull of the stitches on my uterus and surrounding tissues. I started to sob and remember very distinctly the tech grabbing my hand and asking the doctors what was happening. They said they just had to keep going and to make sure I kept breathing. So through every stitch and tug the tech held my hand and kept telling me to breathe through the pain. It was agonizing! I was told later that my body stopped excepting the drugs and it was so sore from the infection that my pain receptors were overly sensitive. All I know is that I wish they had listened to me when I told them that I had woken before in a surgery. Maybe now they will listen to me.

After what felt like forever, they wheeled me out of the OR and I passed out. I was so exhausted that I didn’t even get to breastfeed Elenore for a few hours. Her first feeding was with a bottle and formula. This is one of my greatest regrets. Next time, I will insist on not being induced and will insist on laboring MY way!

That whole weekend was a blur of exhaustion, but I wouldn’t change the time I had with my daughter for anything. I learned more about myself and my family that weekend then I did my whole life. The birth of child is a profound moment, it really is a gift from God.

Holding my beautiful daughter

Holding my beautiful daughter

One of the first times I held her

One of the first times I held her

Daddy daughter cuddles

Daddy daughter cuddles

Elenore Rose

Elenore Rose

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. nana
    Dec 02, 2012 @ 02:50:24

    ❤ ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

