Sleepless nights and motherhood

The last 2 days Elenore has been super sick. The poor little thing has had a runny nose, fever, and as of yesterday; a swollen face and gooey eyes.

As a mother there is nothing worse then seeing your child in pain or your child sick. Both scenarios are really heart wrenching. The first night was a night after a really interesting day, so I was already exhausted when Elenore woke me at midnight with a scream. That whole night is a blur of sweaty baby hair, lullaby singing, Advil, her rocking chair and praying for dawn to come so that Matt could take over. (Because of course, he slept through the whole thing… I think this is pretty common for dads LOL) I wont say that I regretted being the one that stayed up with her though. Even though she was sweaty, whiny, snotty, and a mini furnace, I love the fact that only I could make her feel better. Being able to hold her all night long, wrapped in her favorite blanket, and rock her is really calming.

Around 5 in the morning she allowed me to finally lay her in her crib and go get 3 hours of fitful sleep before she was up again at 8 am.

That next day our friends Nikki and Joe showed up with their two boys (one of which was being grumpy also) so we had a fun time hanging out and understanding each others tiredness as their newborn cried, and Elenore cried because she couldn’t really see, and couldn’t breath well.

The next night Matt had the brilliant idea that he would hold her all night. I, from the beginning, knew that it really was going to be a; hold her till I fall asleep and then Tracey takes over, scenario, but didn’t say anything. And low and behold, that is what happened. He fell into a deep sleep and then Elenore woke with a cry. That night was far worse than the first night. Elle had the shakes and couldn’t get comfortable or even sleep without me holding her to my chest.

That night was a blur of nursing, Advil, Elle shaking, singing Twinkle Twinkle Little Star and being WAY to hot to sleep. Even when Elle finally fell asleep and was not shaking, she took over the whole bed, and I was not able to sleep. Oh, the joys of motherhood.

Oh, and Matt slept the whole night through haha He thought (when I asked him today) that he had slept with her on his chest for hours. When I told him, it was more like 30 minutes, he felt bad. But all well, can’t control how deeply you sleep! haha

I think she is feeling better. I just laid her down for bed, and she didn’t fight me. I’m sending up a prayer that she actually sleeps for me. I don’t have Matt’s help in the morning. 😦

 

And Matt keeps reminding me that I want another one… 3 more actually… Yes, I am crazy. But I wouldn’t change this for the world! I love being a mommy.

The truth about co-sleeping hehe

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. womaximum
    Nov 26, 2012 @ 10:40:07

    That’s a great cartoon!

    Reply

  2. clingingtosanity
    Nov 28, 2012 @ 02:49:37

    I hope she is doing better! When I left to go see doctors in Texas, Sebastian not only had a virus with high fevers, but he also had 5 teeth pushing through. Lol my poor husband and baby. It was so hard to get on that plane.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

