Spa day, Thoughts, and Paleo

Today I had an outing with a group of women I met on a Facebook page I’m apart of. We all really needed a spa day and decided to spend a Saturday relaxing. It was amazing! Started out a Olive Garden eating really good food and chatting, then off to the spa where I got a hour long massage and a hand and food relaxation treatment. It was beyond relaxing.

After half a day of relaxation and no baby time, I found  myself really missing my daughter. Funny how that is, huh? After you have been away for a while, suddenly the baby you felt was going to drive you crazy, is crazy cute, and you can’t get enough of their attention. Yep, I really needed a mommy’s day out. Ha ha I came back ready to take on more mommy baby adventures.

After we spend some family time together and I got as much cuddles and kisses as I could from my baby, we ran to HEB to check out the prices for specialty food. For those of you that may have not seen my last post; Matt, Elle and I are going to try out the Paleo diet. That is where you don’t eat, grains, dairy, and try to stick to all organic. (even though, we are not giving up Dairy, we love cheese and milk to much, just going to go Organic on those) After we got over the sticker prices on some stuff, and was mildly relieved over the price of other stuff, we came to the conclusion that we probably wont be able to go completely Paleo. Its going to be more like 1/3 Paleo. LOL I’m going to try to get as close as I can, but some stuff we just can’t afford to have in our weekly food budget. For example: Organic Beer.

I was excited to find that HEB had Organic, Grass fed, Free Range Beef. Everything I was told was what we needed to be eating to be keeping to the Paleo lifestyle. Then I saw the price, $8 a pound! That is $5 more than what we are paying now! We can’t afford that, especially since we would have to be doubling our beef purchases to accommodate the loss of some our normal normal foods; like pasta and rice. That saddened me, especially since that is where tons of hormones are. I might buy 1 lb of the Organic beef and the rest non, just so we get some Organic beef, but we can’t do all. 😦  All well, we do what we can.

Another one: the special flours: Coconut and Almond. Coconut is over $6 for 16 oz, and Almond is $12 for 16 oz.. Ouch!  Solution?  I will not be baking as much, and we will not be breading our chicken as much. LOL I think we can deal with that. We don’t really need me to be making tons of baked sweets anyways.

Here is my final thought on the issue. Even though the prices shocked me, and Matt is not as enthusiastic anymore (haha), I’m still excited to try this out!

Here’s to life changes.

 

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jackie
    Nov 17, 2012 @ 23:53:00

    Try looking into local markets are butchers. Local fruit and vegetable stands as well. We have a local meat market here that carries all local grass fed beef and other meats and the prices are really good.

    Reply

  2. Arielle A.
    Nov 18, 2012 @ 00:31:46

    I completely understand! I buy as much as I can which normally involves organic fruits and veggies and regular on the other stuff. I figure I do as much as I can now in my present circumstance! Keep it up!!!

    Reply

  3. Lizz
    Nov 19, 2012 @ 19:56:01

    You have to decide what foods are important to you. For Luis and I raw dairy ($9 a gallon for milk), eggs (5ish a dozen), grass fed butter (3-6 dollars a lb) and organic chicken. We don’t buy fruit, we but all organic vegetables, and we don’t buy breads, “sides”, packages snacks, bottled drinks, etc ( which drives the grocery significantly higher). We also do not eat out, or get coffee out very often. It typically evens out the budget.

    Reply

    • traceyberry
      Nov 19, 2012 @ 21:42:40

      Ya, we picked out the stuff we were willing to switch up to Organic and what we were willing to pay more for. The thing is you guys have all these awesome resources where you don’t have to buy fruit and where you can find raw milk. There is NOTHING down here! haha All well, we are going to do the best we can.

      Also, we eat out rarely also, and I haven’t purchased a coffee in months 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

