Hippie?

So yesterday I was given a couple websites to look at:

http://www.marksdailyapple.com/definitive-guide-primal-blueprint/#axzz2C8Pfmtbe

http://www.paleoforwomen.com/getting-started/

I found them extremely interesting. The notion that we should be eating and living as close as we can to what is “natural”; so organic, meat (grass fed), veggies, fruit etc., and then being active every day, is profound and also astonishingly simple. That this is a “new age” movement is nuts! Shouldn’t it be common sense that eating all the chemicals that we do, sitting for long periods of time, always in a state of stress, and then not sleeping enough is something that WOULDN’T be good for you?

Apparently not, because when I mentioned it on a fb page I’m a member of I was told to “take it with a grain of salt”. Just because we live in a “modern age” and are being told everyday by doctors that something is “healthy” doesn’t mean that going back to our roots is a bad thing. What is wrong with eating organic, going for walks daily, eating more meat, veggies, and fruit, eating minimal amounts of grains, and trying to eat only organic dairy, or no dairy at all? (Not that I’m going to do that, I love Greek yogurt and cheese WAY to much to do that) Absolutely nothing.

So Matthew and I have decided to try out the Paleo diet. We are going to finish out the food we have in the house now and then going to try a modified version of it for ourselves (keeping dairy for one, we love dairy). If we love it, we will continue to change our diet till we are close to our ancestors as we can be. This isn’t going to be easy. There is so much food out there that is labeled “healthy”; and is being pushed on us, so its going to make my grocery shopping a bit more difficult. But I want what is best for my family.

So lets see how this goes, its going to be a adventure ❀

The Paleo Pyramid

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lizz
    Nov 14, 2012 @ 21:24:31

    many people are skeptical of things that eliminate “health food” like whole grains, wheat and low-fat foods. American’s have been indoctrinated with things like GMO’s don’t cause any harm, and organic foods aren’t any more nutritious than conventionally grown foods. Unfortunately, in the 70s is when we were told to lower our fat intake from 40% to 30% is when obesity skyrocketed…this is also the time when wheat was being altered, and the heart association encouraged us to eat “Whole Grains” for heart health…i think most people are missing something. Why do we think we are smarter than nature? we make low-fat this and low-fat that, we add DHA to baby formula, and omega-3s to eggs…what the?!? Im excited for you and Matt, and if you need any help…you can always ask!

    Reply

  2. Arielle A.
    Nov 14, 2012 @ 21:25:51

    From my conversations with my Paleo friend and my own experience cutting out a lot of grains and dairy, YOU WILL FEEL SO MUCH BETTER! And you may not even recognize it until you eat something non-paleo and it leaves you feeling sick. Good luck with this journey! And no, you are NOT a hippie!!! πŸ™‚ Enjoy the awesomeness of natural foods!

    Reply

    • traceyberry
      Nov 14, 2012 @ 21:29:30

      haha I know I not, it just started cracking me up that what I was about to embark on would make people call me a “hippie” even though I’m the farthest sense of the word LOL As you know πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  3. Becky Fleming (@Becky_Fleming)
    Nov 14, 2012 @ 21:56:35

    Good for you, Tracey!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

